Taipei city

9 Jan

I just arrived yesterday evening in Taipei ! I didn’t visited the whole city yet, but have read many stuff about it. Taipei is the capital of the Republic Of China (Taiwan). (I know, the official name of the country is really confusing… ). It’s situated on the nothern tip of the Island.

Wikipedia write that “Taipei was founded in the early 18th century and became an important center for overseas trade in the 19th century. The Qing Dynasty of China made Taipei the provincial capital of Taiwan in 1886.When the Japanese acquired Taiwan in 1895 after the first sino-japanese war, they retained Taipei as the capital of the island, and also advanced extensive urban planning in Taipei. The Republic of China took over the island in 1945 following Japanese surrender. After losing mainland China to the Chinese communist party in the Chinese civil war, the  ruling Kuomintang (KMT) resettled the ROC government to Taiwan and declared Taipei the provicional capital of the Republic of China in December 1949.”

Now that we are less dummies, I can share you my first impression on the city:

  • There are tones of scooters everywhere
  • It is raining almost all the time since my arrival whereas it’s supposed to be one of the dryest months of the year
  • There are many exotic trees in the street, and balconies
  • Side walks are uncommon (at least in my neighborhood), so I almost died 3 time this morning
  • My “adventurous” lunch was a disaster: sweet soup with beans and rice. I won’t do that mistake again !
  • Tawanese people are really kind with me

    The 101 tower

    The 101 tower

Leave a comment